Home / community /

TCL Commission

The college is governed by the Technical College of the Lowcountry Area Commission. The Governor, upon recommendation of the local legislative delegation, appoints members. These outstanding community leaders represent our four county service area: Beaufort County and one each from Colleton, Hampton and Jasper counties. The commission’s job is to set policy and oversees regulatory compliance.


General Arthur E. Brown, Jr. (U.S Army Retired) serves the Area Commission as chairman and represents Beaufort County. Gen. Brown joined the Commission in 1997 after serving on the TCL Foundation for many years. A decorated career military officer, Gen. Brown retired in 1989 after serving in a number of positions including his last position of Vice Chief of Staff U.S. Army. Gen. Brown is a leader in several community and civic organizations in the area.



Charles W. “Bill” Bootle serves as Commission Vice-Chairman. He is a long-time Beaufort Resident, recently retired after many successful years as the owner of Bootle Air Systems, Inc.  Mr. Bootle is  no stranger to TCL, his dedication to the development of TCL’s HVAC program is one of the reasons it is one of TCL’s signature programs.  Mr. Bootle is active in many civic organizations and is the past president of the Rotary Club of the Lowcountry and in 2008 was honored as a South Carolina Ambassador of Economic Development.  Mr. Bootle is also the recipient of many military awards presented during his U.S. Army career.



Sheree Darien serves as Secretary/Treasurer of the Commission and represents Jasper County.  Mrs. Darien joined the Commission in 2009 and is the Branch Sales Manager at Regions Bank in Ridgeland, S.C. She is an ordained minister and an avid writer, contributing frequently to The Jasper Sun newspaper. She is involved in various community and civic organizations in Jasper County.




Patricia M. Green represents Beaufort County. Mrs. Green was named South Carolina’s Small Business Person of the Year in 1996 for her successful business in Beaufort, The Chocolate Tree. In 2010, Mrs. Green was inducted into the International Candy Hall of Fame at the National Confectionery Association Convention. Mrs. Green has held numerous leadership positions in various community organizations in Beaufort.



David M. Smalls represents Colleton County. He is a native of Colleton County and is the State Director for Communities in Schools, which works within the public school system to boost student support networks. Mr. Smalls plays a significant role in the economic development of the county and serves on the Colleton County Economic Alliance. He was a member of the Liberty Fellowship South Carolina, Inaugural Class of 2006, a prestigious leadership program for South Carolina’s emerging leaders.



Marjorie Thomas represents Hampton County. Mrs. Thomas is a retired Area Director with the South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce after serving for 34 years. She was named Hampton County Chamber of Commerce Person of the Year in 2005. She is a former board member of the Lowcountry Workforce Investment Board; Southern Carolina Alliance Board; Hampton County Economic Development Board; Lowcountry Resort Islands and Tourism Board; Lowcountry Leadership Board; and Hampton County Chamber of Commerce Board.



Joan M. Heyward represents the Bluffton area of Beaufort County.  She joined the Commission on January 2013.  Mrs. Heyward is a retired New York Life Agent, after thirty-five years.  Having lived in Bluffton for 21 years, she has been involved in many community organizations.  Currently, she is Board Chair of Bluffton Jasper County Volunteers in Medicine serving over 1200 patients in the area.