Home / Programs of Study / Arts & Sciences /

Associate of Arts

The Arts & Sciences Division is an academic community of students and faculty involved in the discovery, evaluation, and transmission of essential knowledge. The liberal arts curriculum is designed to prepare students for the world of work and to transfer successfully to a four-year institution. The Arts and Sciences Division also includes developmental education curriculum, which prepare students for college level courses.

 

PROGRAM DESCRIPTION
The Associate of Arts (AA) college transfer degree program prepares students to transfer to a four-year college or university to earn a baccalaureate degree in such areas as English, pre-law, psychology or social work, business administration or education.

TCL offers the following Associate of Arts degrees:

  • Associate of Arts Transfer Block
  • Arts, Humanities, Social Science Transfer Block
  • Early Childhood, Elementary, Special Education Transfer Block
  • General Business Transfer Block Transfer Block

 

For all Transfer Blocks, 15 hours of general education will be required.  Students are required to take one course from each of the areas listed below and two additional electives from the areas listed below.


Humanities/Fine Arts

ART, ENG, MUS, PHI, THE, ANT, ECO, HIS, GEO, PSC

Social/Behavioral Sciences

PSY, SOC

Natural Science/Mathematics

BIO, CHM, MAT, PHY


 

The Arts & Sciences Division also offers certificate programs in the following areas:

 

ARTICULATION AND TRANSFER GUIDELINES WITH FOUR-YEAR INSTITUTIONS

Articulation List

The Technical College of the Lowcountry (TCL) offers multiple educational options for your future. TCL offers the College Transfer Program leading to an Associate in Arts (AA) or an Associate in Science (AS) degree. All of the courses required to complete the two year AA/AS programs may be transferred to any four-year public university or college in South Carolina as well as selected out-of-state universities. Students planning to transfer to a four-year school are encouraged to plan their program with a TCL counselor and their Academic Advisor.

It is important to know that general education requirements and requirements for specific majors vary among different colleges and universities. The TCL Student Success Center is a good resource for students who plan to transfer credit from TCL. The Center has information on colleges and universities and the degree programs they offer. Counselors and academic advisors are available to help students with academic planning to insure course work is appropriate for the program at the four-year institution they plan to attend.

NOTE: Developmental education courses do not transfer to other colleges. Additional placement information, testing or coursework may be required.

 

See Transfer Policies for South Carolina Transfer Guidelines.


FACULTY

Joseph Bailey, Biology Instructor

Phone: 843-470-6026 / jbailey@tcl.edu

Ben Brame, Mathematics Instructor

Phone: 843-470-5950 / bbrame@tcl.edu

James Daniels, Mathematics Instructor

Phone: 843-525-8332 / jdaniels@tcl.edu

Wesla Fletcher, Division Dean

Phone: 843-525-8343 / wfletcher@tcl.edu

Shana Hirsch, English Instructor

Phone: 843-525-8347 / hirsch@tcl.edu

Rosemary Hunt, Spanish Instructor

Phone: 843-525-8274 / rhunt@tcl.edu

Daniel Istoc, Mathematics Instructor

Phone: 843-470-6039 / distoc@tcl.edu

Russell Keevy, English Instructor

Phone: 843-470-6022 / rkeevy@tcl.edu

Joy Locke, Speech Instructor

Phone: 843-525-8225 / jlocke@tcl.edu

Greg Mauriocourt, History Instructor

Phone: 843-525-8334 / gmaurio@tcl.edu

Natavia Middleton, Biology Instructor

Phone: 843-470-5964 / nmiddleton@tcl.edu

Tom Mullins, Psychology Instructor

Phone: 843-525-8306 / tmullins@tcl.edu

Laurence Neely, Biology Instructor

Phone: 843-470-5951 / lneely@tcl.edu

Heather Weiss, English Intructor

Phone:  843-525-8260 / hweiss@tcl.edu

Andrea West, Mathematics Instructor

Phone: 843-525-8239 / awest@tcl.edu

 


For transfer information:
Melanie Gallion
Career and Transfer Services Manager
Beaufort Campus / Building 2 / Room 121
Phone: 843-525-8224
mgallion@tcl.edu


 

Course Catalog