TCL students honored for academic achievement | Technical College of the LowCountry

TCL students honored for academic achievement

March 22, 2013

Notice: This article is published more than one year ago. Information in this article may be dated or irrelevant.

The Technical College of the Lowcountry has named Port Royal resident Jill Egbert and Hilton Head Island resident Jovonn “Butch” Sumter to the S.C. Phi Theta Kappa Academic All-State Team. PTK is a national honor society for two-year college students. Both were recently recognized during a state-wide recognition ceremony at the State House.


Egbert is a TCL Presidential Ambassador and is majoring in business. She will receive an associate degree in business and a certificate in management this May.


Sumter was also named a 2013 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Bronze Scholar. The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team program by recognizing 50 Gold, 50 Silver and 50 Bronze Scholars, and providing nearly $200,000 in scholarships annually. Each Bronze Scholar receives a $1,000 scholarship and a special medallion. An independent panel of judges considers outstanding academic rigor, grade point average, academic and leadership awards, and engagement in college and community service in the selection process.

Sumter is majoring in industrial electronics technology and will receive his associate degree in May. Sumter serves as a TCL Presidential Ambassador and is president of Alpha Lambda Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at TCL. He is an active member of PILAU, which stands for “Promoting Integrity, Leadership, Academics and cultural Understanding” and focuses on the recruitment and retention of African-American male students. Sumter also completed the Entrepreneurial Learning Project (ELP) course for which he was awarded a certificate of completion in January 2013. Sumter plans to continue his education at a four-year university and then would like to pursue a career in industrial technologies


About Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.


The Technical College of the Lowcountry is committed to a policy of equal opportunity for all qualified applicants for admissions or employment without regard to race, gender, national origin, age, religion, marital status, veteran status, disability, or political affiliation or belief.


Archive news