TCL Area Commission | Technical College of the LowCountry

TCL Area Commission


The college is governed by the Technical College of the Lowcountry Area Commission. The Governor, upon recommendation of the local legislative delegation, appoints members. These outstanding community leaders represent our four county service area: Beaufort County and one each from Colleton, Hampton and Jasper counties. The commission’s job is to set policy and oversees regulatory compliance.

Next Meeting: 9 a.m., Tuesday, June 16 via Zoom.

Click here for agenda.

The Commissioners

General Arthur E. Brown, Jr. (U.S. Army Retired) serves the Area Commission as chairman and represents Beaufort County. Gen. Brown joined the Commission in 1997 after serving on the TCL Foundation for many years. A decorated career military officer, Gen. Brown retired in 1989 after serving in a number of positions including his last position of Vice Chief of Staff U.S. Army. Gen. Brown is a leader in several community and civic organizations in the area.

Charles W. “Bill” Bootle serves as Commission Vice-Chairman. A long-time Beaufort resident, he is retired after many successful years as the owner of Bootle Air Systems, Inc.  Mr. Bootle is a longtime champion of TCL: his dedication to the development of TCL’s HVAC program is one reason why it’s so successful.  Mr. Bootle is active in many civic organizations and is the past president of the Rotary Club of the Lowcountry and in 2008 was honored as a South Carolina Ambassador of Economic Development.  Mr. Bootle is also the recipient of many military awards presented during his U.S. Army career.

comission photoSheree Darien serves as Secretary/Treasurer of the Commission and represents Jasper County.  Mrs. Darien joined the Commission in 2009 and lives in Ridgeland, S.C. She is an ordained minister, published author and certified Personal Development Coach. She is involved in her community including the Jasper County Chamber of Commerce and various other boards and civic organizations.

Dr. William SmallDr. William Small, Jr. represents Hampton County.  Dr. Small holds a Juris Doctorate degree from Howard University and has an extensive background in higher education; having most recently been appointed by the South Carolina General Assembly to serve on the Board of Trustees for South Carolina State University.  Dr. Small is a passionate advocate for bringing educational and economic development opportunities to rural communities. He has served as the executive director of the Hampton County Economic Development Commission.  Dr. Small has traveled extensively world-wide, most particularly in West Africa where he studied the history and cultures of Liberia, Sierra Leone and Senegal.

comission photoDavid M. Smalls represents Colleton County. He is a native of Colleton County and is the former State Director for Communities in Schools of South Carolina, which works within the public school system to boost student support networks. He previously served as the President of the Walterboro-Colleton Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Smalls continues to play a significant role in the economic development of the county. He is a member of the Liberty Fellowship South Carolina Inaugural Class of 2006, a prestigious leadership program for South Carolina’s emerging leaders.

Gary Cassevah serves on the Board of the Foundation for the Technical College of the Lowcountry as well as representing Beaufort County on the Area Commission. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Accounting from Belmont Abbey College in Belmont, N.C. His expansive career in accounting and management includes leadership roles at the Naval Audit Service and Camp Lejeune. In 2006, Mr. Cassevah moved to Beaufort, S.C., where he served as Director/CEO of Marine Corps Community Services – South Carolina until his retirement in 2018.

Additional Information

2020 TCL Area Commission Meetings PDF